Skip to content

Simple eats spotlight: Mad Mike’s Burgers

March 24, 2013

OK, so not every restaurant can be an adventure…sometimes you want to just grab a good non-fast food burger. It goes without saying, Terry’s Turf Club (http://wp.me/p3jVIR-6j) serves the best burger I’ve ever had. However, it’s not always easy to get to Eastern Avenue or wait in line to get said burger. That said, living in Newport, I have a few other options. 5 Guys is at the Levee, and in the same area you can get a burger at Claddagh, Brothers, Brio, Hofbrau, and probably other places I’m not thinking of right now. None of these are bad, really, but none of them come close to Terry’s and to be honest I think 5 Guys is one of the most overrated places I’ve ever eaten. A new burger place opened not long ago, Mad Mike’s Burgers. This place is their third location, they also have 2 in Florence, KY. You check out their menu and locations here: http://madmikesburgers.com/
It’s in the old Graeter’s building on Monmouth, and I’ve been wanting to try it out. I went there today (Sunday) to get a burger “to go”. Kind of weird walking in, as the ice cream scoop door handles are still on the doors of the old home of the Newport Graeter’s. They have a couple of large TV’s (with the NCAA Tourney on today), a beer list, and overall was very decent looking for a burger place. I went with the plain burger, which is basically the Outlaw with mushrooms and without the onions or “Mad Sauce” (chipotle mayo)…I wanted to judge the burger on its own without the sauce. I did get it on a pretzel bun, however, as that sounded too good to pass up. I got home and opened it up…the bun had gotten a little moist from being in the foil wrapper…it was a very juicy burger. It was two thin patties, lettuce, tomato, grilled mushrooms, and the ketchup/mustard I added. It was actually pretty good…the bun was really good even though it was moist. While it fell way short of Terry’s…the meat at Terry’s is just too good to overcome for most of these places…it was way better than the similarly priced 5 Guys. I’d recommend it…it’s tasty, easy, and local.
Mad Mike’s Burgers and Fries on Urbanspoon

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

