Skip to content

BrewRiver GastroPub

August 9, 2014

I started this food blog over a year ago because I love eating, I love discovering new places, and I love sharing those experiences with others so they can enjoy and share in the happiness that eating new food brings to me. In the last few months, my wife and I have become first time parents to a beautiful little boy. As amazing as parenthood is (and I wouldn’t trade it for anything!), it has all but killed our ability to go out to any places worth writing about. So, when a couple of friends of ours texted us to meet them out with our 2 ½ month old at a restaurant, we were pretty excited. It had been awhile since we’d been out to eat dinner and we were ready to have at it.
 
After a brief discussing, we decided on BrewRiver GastroPub (http://brewrivergastropub.com/). Over on Eastern Avenue, it’s a place I’d read about but hadn’t gotten to visit before my wife’s third trimester had made it inconvenient to eat out much. By the time we made it there (try making it anywhere on time with a newborn!), the patio had a couple of tables open, so we joined our friends at a table there. The patio is a nice, open area and is an oasis of sorts on that part of Eastern Avenue. Not a whole lot of nice buildings around it, and the building right next store had some raccoons in the siding I think, but whatever. It was a humid-less summer night, there were friends, beers, and food to be had! Not to mention our son was loving checking out the lights and trees around the patio and had a great time with us. The waiter was friendly and had some great suggestions, although he was a bit slow/forgetful at times.
 
There was a solid selection of beer on a board outside. Not one of those places with dozens of taps or anything, but with over 20, that’s more than enough to make me happy. My wife went with a Gnarly Brown Ale from Mad Tree (local), and I had a New Belgium/Odell FOCOllaboration American Pale Ale. I’d never had the FOCOllaboration, but its two breweries from Fort Collins, CO (see what they did there?) that collaborated on an awesome American Pale Ale. Smooth and slightly hoppy, it hit the spot. Since my wife was driving, I also got half of her beer. Yay for me.
 
photo 1
 
When it came time for food, she had the BrewRiver Burger (Irish cheddar, house made pickle, Portobello crisps, tomato, lettuce, local bun, hand-cut fries). I went with our waiter’s suggestion: the Turkey and Goat Cheese SAMich (local turkey, Pesto Aioli, goat cheese, oven roasted tomato, arugula on a farmhouse bread, and upgraded to the truffle fries). The burger was really good…thick and juicy, and the toppings were solid. My sandwich was great. The turkey was tender and seemed fresh, and the goat cheese was awesome. The fries were good, too. My truffle fries also came with truffle aioli (fancy mayo, basically) and was as tasty as it was bad for me. They had homemade ketchup as well, which while being a cool idea was too salsa-y for me to enjoy.
 
photo 3 photo 2
 
Overall, a great choice for dinner and a drink. The restaurant itself has a nice atmosphere, although there’s not much around to do before or after. That didn’t affect our visit since we were with our son and had no interest or time in doing anything else, but something to keep in mind for those out on a date. I think The Rookwood (http://wp.me/p3jVIR-2F) in Mt. Adams is a better choice for a similar type of place in a much better neighborhood with more things to do with a date or with friends. And, if you want a burger, Terry’s Turf Club (http://wp.me/p3jVIR-6j) has the best burger I’ve ever had anywhere. Still, certainly worth a visit and I’d definitely go again.
 
BrewRiver GastroPub on Urbanspoon

2 Comments
  1. I’ve been to BrewRiver a few times and I’ve always been really happy with the experience. The food is good and I love that there are so many local beers!

  2. Reblogged this on BEER not WAR.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

